DSCF2154_edited_edited.jpg
Graphic arrow element

2017

The Mixbus Studio was founded in 2017 by Jacob Pomerleau, a self-produced artist from East Broughton. This sound creator and cultural entrepreneur came up with the idea of a nomadic recording studio when he was looking for a way to make a living from music in nature and in the city. It was inspired by a mobile studio tradition among bands like the Rolling Stones. What was supposed to be a personal project at the start, it quickly turned into a business. The positive response to its innovation confirmed the interest from the music industry.  

2018
In 2018, Jacob set out on the roads of Quebec. It toured 13 festivals across the country. As two first artists, he receives Philippe Brach and Hubert Lenoir, which sets the stage for a series of live sessions carried out as an event. In all, he carries out more than thirty sessions, therefore promotional material that allows emerging artists to make themselves known.  Longer-lasting projects like the Love in Fear and Magic Down albums are also carried out at the studio during the winter period which is less hectic. At the same time, Jacob created the L'Aternative à Thetford Mines festival presented on June 6, 7 and 8 in the city center. This first edition attracted more than 1000 festival-goers.  

 

2019

Following the enthusiasm around this original concept, the Mixbus Studio is becoming more professional and welcoming Isabelle Langlois to the team in April 2019. They are setting up additional services and fine-tuning existing ones in order to respond adequately to the demands of the music industry: renewing the stage experience, democratizing music in remote regions, diversifying the range of shows, offering affordable promotional video production services (live sessions) for artists across Quebec.  

2020

In the spring of 2020, in the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic, the Mixbus entrepreneurial team made the decision to expand its fleet. The government health measures surrounding cultural events demonstrate to the organization that a music distribution vehicle allowing social distancing is an opportunity not to be missed. This is why they bought a second school bus in order to convert it into a turnkey 30-foot nomadic stage with a sound and multi-function interior. This concept, unique in Canada, allows outdoor shows to be held, whether stationary or in motion, while respecting sanitary measures. We are carrying out a tour of residences for the elderly. In order to show solidarity with the canceled festivals, we also developed a project called The Mixbus musical adventure, which consisted in offering six regional festivals a show in an extraordinary place broadcast live on Facebook and amplified by Urbania.  This project was funded by SODEC as well as a second component which supports the development of an innovative way of digitally consuming culture. We won the Ose Innovate award from UQAM and MT Lab for his achievements.  

2021

In 2021, we go crazy and realize the conversion of a third stage bus. We are touring 6 high schools as part of the Rendez-vous panqubecois de Secondaire en spectacles in May, in addition to participating in several festivals and events.  in municipalities. The Mixbus fleet is then complete!

THE HISTORY

Graphic arrow element

DSCF2154_edited_edited.jpg
Graphic arrow element

2017

Le Mixbus Studio a été fondé en 2017 par Jacob Pomerleau, artiste auto-produit natif d’East Broughton. Ce créateur sonore et entrepreneur culturel a eu l’idée d’un studio d'enregistrement nomade alors qu’il cherchait un moyen de vivre de musique en nature comme en ville. Il a été inspiré par une tradition de studio mobile chez des bands comme les Rolling Stones. Ce qui devait être qu’un projet personnel au départ, c’est transformé rapidement en entreprise. La réponse positive que suscitait son innovation a confirmé l’intérêt de la part de l’industrie musicale. 

2018
En 2018, Jacob se lance sur les routes du Québec. Il réalise une tournée de 13 festivals sur tout le territoire. Il reçoit comme deux premiers artistes Philippe Brach et Hubert Lenoir, ce qui met la table à une série de live sessions réalisées en événement. En tout, il réalise plus d’une trentaine de sessions donc du matériel promotionnel qui permet à des artistes en situation d’émergence de se faire connaître.  Des projets de plus longue durée comme les albums de Love in Fear et Magic Down sont réalisés également au studio lors de la période hivernale qui est moins mouvementée. En parallèle, Jacob crée le festival L’alternative à Thetford Mines présenté les 6, 7 et 8 juin au centre-ville. Cette première édition attira plus de 1000 festivaliers. 

 

2019

Suite à l’engouement autour de ce concept original, le Mixbus Studio se professionnalise et accueille au sein de l’équipe Isabelle Langlois en avril 2019. Ils mettent sur place des services supplémentaires et peaufinent ceux existants afin de répondre adéquatement aux demandes de l’industrie musicale: renouveler l’expérience de la scène, démocratiser la musique en régions éloignées, diversifier l’offre de spectacles, offrir des services abordables de production vidéos promotionnels (live session) pour les artistes de tout le Québec. 

2020

Au printemps 2020, en pleine pandémie de COVID-19, l’équipe entrepreneuriale du Mixbus prend la décision d’agrandir sa flotte. Les mesures sanitaires gouvernementales entourant les événements culturels démontrent à l’organisation qu’un véhicule de diffusion musicale permettant la distanciation sociale est une opportunité à ne pas manquer. C’est pourquoi ils achètent un deuxième autobus scolaire afin de le convertir en scène nomade clé en main de 30 pieds possédant un intérieur sonorisé et multifonctions. Ce concept unique au Canada permet la tenue de spectacles extérieurs soient stationnaires ou en mouvement et ce, en respectant les mesures sanitaires. Nous réalisons une tournée de résidences pour personnes âgées. Afin d’être solidaires envers les festivals annulés, nous avons également développé un projet nommé L’aventure musicale Mixbus, qui consistait à offrir à six festivals en région un spectacle dans un lieu extraordinaire diffusé en direct sur Facebook et amplifié par Urbania.  Ce projet a été financé par la SODEC tout comme un deuxième volet qui soutient l’élaboration d’une manière innovatrice de consommer numériquement la culture. Nous remportons le prix Ose Innover de l'UQAM et du MT Lab grâce à ses réalisations. 

2021

En 2021, nous devenons fous et réalisons la conversion d’un troisième autobus scène. Nous réalisons une tournée de 6 écoles secondaire dans le cadre des Rendez-vous panquébécois de Secondaire en spectacles en mai, en plus de participer à 10 festivals et événements en municipalités. Nous participons à la tournée des CPE de Atchoum de plus de 30 spectacles partout au Québec. En 2021, le Mixbus compte alors 98 journées de shows et 34 live sessions!

L'HISTORIQUE

Graphic arrow element